Rae selected for Superintendent-Elect Critchfield’s transition team

BONNERS FERRY — Boundary County School Board Trustee Teresa Rae has been selected to serve on Superintendent-elect Debbie Critchfield’s transition committee.

Rae told the Herald that she comes to the committee with her eyes and ears open and that she wants to be a voice for smaller schools.

Rae said she was informed of her selection for the committee by Superintendent Jan Bayer, who threw Rae’s name in the ring when Critchfield asked if there was a BCSD trustee who could serve on the committee.

“I think it’s smart for [Critchfield] to do this now and hit the ground running in January,” she said.

In a press release, Critchfield said the committee will assist them in staffing and organizing the State Department’s Department of Education, in addition to developing the K-12 budget review and funding priorities for the next year, building a policy around skills and career readiness in K- 12, parental empowerment and other priorities for the incoming SDE.

As previously announced, Chief of Staff-designate Greg Wilson and Chief Deputy Superintendent-designate Ryan Cantrell will lead the transition efforts of Superintendent-designate Critchfield and this committee through early January.

“This transition committee is a great representation of the many perspectives supporting K-12 education in Idaho, including parents, teachers, school administrators, legislators, business leaders and other community leaders,” said Superintendent-Elect Critchfield. “I am very pleased that they are willing to join this effort to support children and families in Idaho as we build the department prepared to support and sustain great schools.”

Superintendent of Bonner County’s Lake Pend Oreille School District, Becky Meyer of Sandpoint, is also a member of the transition committee.

Below are the names, hometowns and occupations of all Transition Committee members: _Spencer Barzee, Clifton, Superintendent, West Side School District 202

_Rep. Judy Boyle, Midvale, Idaho home

_Steve Copmann, Burley, Principal, Burley Junior High School

_Bernadette Edwards, Grangeville, Trustee, Board of Directors, Mountain View School District 244

_ Portia Flynn, Meridian, former staffer at the State Department of Education

_Lori Frasure, Meridian, Executive Chair, West Ada School District

_ Mike Garrett, Orofino, Superintendent, Orofino Joint School District 171

_Amy Henry, Nampa, Parent

_Mario Hernandez, Idaho Falls, owner and CEO, Teton Toyota and Teton Volkswagen

_Lara Herway, Idaho Falls, parent and community organizer

_Tyler Hurst, star, campaign adviser and businessman

_Sen. Dave Lent, Idaho Falls, Idaho State Senate

_Cortney Liddiard, Idaho Falls, CEO, Ball Ventures

_Kurt Liebich, Boise, President, Idaho State Board of Education

_Becky Meyer, Sandpoint, Principal, Lake Pend Oreille School District

_Julie Nawrocki, Idaho Falls, math teacher, Idaho Falls School District (D91)

_Lori Otter, Celebrity, Realtor, and Former First Lady of Idaho

_Teresa Rae, Bonners Ferry, Trustee, Boundary County School District 101

_Anne Ritter, Meridian, Board Member, Meridian Medical Arts Charter High School

_Rob Sauer, Homedale, Principal, Homedale School District

_Stephanie Wagner, Idaho Falls, parent

_Rep. Julie Yamamoto, Nampa, Idaho House and former educator


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *